Divorcing the Muffin Top

My journey in becoming healthier, happier, and fitting into smaller pants.

Officially overweight. (Screw you, BMI)

My clothes do not fit. I had the evidence. In some crazy, masochistic way I guess I needed more proof that I had actually gained some weight. Was I still in denial? Maybe.

I measured my BMI.

25.5. Overweight.

I guess that’s what happens when the word “healthy” takes a sabbatical from your vocabulary for 3 months.

I know that the BMI is not a completely accurate measurement, and does not take certain things into consideration such as muscle mass, and frame, but it is still a widely used measure of body fat. And the proof was in the pudding. And I don’t want this to be a pessimistic blog but rather a, sort of, diary of my progress. This is the start.

In addition to my BMI measurement, I have measured my waist, hips and thighs in order to calculate inches lost over time (that’s the goal, anyway!). These numbers will be the benchmark against which I can determine my progress (in addition to actual pounds lost).

My goal: lose 20 pounds by December 31, 2013, thus allowing me to fit into pants which now sit in a bag, hidden on a shelf in my closet.

It will be no easy feat, but I am really determined. Perhaps I should have those pants on display as a reminder of my goal?

I’m keeping track of my calorie intake, calories burned, and measurements through an app on my phone. I will report on a review later on, when I’ve had a bit more time using it.

I’ve started back at Crossfit and am taking part in an 8-week challenge which I will also report on soon. Thus far, I’ve attended two classes in 3 days. Not a bad start.

Crossing my fingers, and turning down cookies, I’m hopeful, optimistic and determined to achieve success!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
