Divorcing the Muffin Top

My journey in becoming healthier, happier, and fitting into smaller pants.

New direction: Holistic Nutrition

My oh my… time flies by. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted. I’ve been incredibly busy, between work, studying, working out, a number of social occasions, etc., I have neglected this blog!!
In review: I’ve definitely been on and off with my exercising (slap on the wrist for me). During the week, I’ve been super diligent about eating properly.. and on the weekends is when it’s all falling apart. I have been able to keep the weight off that I’ve lost (3 pounds total) – but it is a far stretch from where I want to be.
Recognizing this pattern in myself (weekend warrior) I’ve enlisted the help of a holistic nutritionist in order to help myself get on a proper routine and become more accountable for what I’m putting into my mouth. I’ve been to an initial assessment and my first appointment so far; right now there is not much to report except hope. I’m really hoping that the nutritionist is able to give me the right tools, and for I to use them correctly, for me to turn my life around.
So far, I’ve been provided with all of my initial measurements, my BMI, weight, body fat percentage and recommended caloric intake as well as an eating plan which divvies up my macro nutrients (proteins, carbohydrates and fats) throughout each meal. I also received a reference guide for what constitutes carbohydrates, fats, vegetables, fruit, protein, dairy, and ‘freebies’ (extremely low calories per portion… like water, chewing gum, mustard, etc.).
The job of the holistic nutritionist is to look at my body composition and get me to a healthy body fat percentage rather than focusing on scale weight. Although I am meticulous at looking at the scale (slap on the wrist again!), I am hopeful that with a better body composition, I will be able to achieve my ultimate goal of fitting into my pants once again. When I become more diligent about ensuring I get my booty to the gym, I’m sure that this will all work itself out.

My vacation to Mexico is official 87 days away and I have a lot of work to do! Time to get to work.

2 comments on “New direction: Holistic Nutrition

  1. David Brewer
    February 27, 2014

    \Good luck in your weight loss journey! I’ll be following you. I’m in school to become a registered dietitian and I have a blog that might be useful to you http://www.whatmattersnutrition.wordpress.com. If long-term motivation is something that you see could be a problem, I usually recommend people start with this article: http://whatmattersnutrition.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/weight-loss-step-1-motivation/

    • crisperz
      February 27, 2014

      Hi David, thanks for the follow! I’ve checked out your blog as well and will read your article. Anything that will help! Lol I wish you much success as you endeavour through your studies in becoming a dietician. Feel free to comment often on my blog and provide your feedback! I’ll report again on Monday evening after my second measurements with the nutritionist – hopefully with some good news!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
