Divorcing the Muffin Top

My journey in becoming healthier, happier, and fitting into smaller pants.

Making time for exercise.

How the heck am I supposed to find more time in the day to add exercise in on top of everything else!?!?  I have pondered the answer to that question for a while. And then I started re-designing myself, my schedule, my life.

I’ve finally made up my mind that losing the weight is a top priority for me. I know that the initial stress of it all is just temporary, so until I am on track to my goal, I have to mark exercise and diet as #1. I work full time, I’m in school, I’m running errands, taking care of my house, seeing the nutritionist, trying to have a social life, I have a boyfriend, and I still have to sleep, eat and shower…. and I don’t even have kids! I know there are folks out there trying to do the same thing I am, and with much more on the go than I have. My hat goes off to you.

I did not know where to start finding more pockets of time in the day. A few weeks ago, I started going to the gym on my lunch breaks from work. It worked great, until this week came around and I had 12 dozen errands to run. So I was there again… with a need for more hours in the day.

I finally had to admit to myself…. I am wasting a very valuable pocket of time everyday. I was wasting my mornings. I like to sleep in. No. I LOVE to sleep in. I start work at 9am. I used to wake up at 7:45am, grab what I need, and run out the door to work. Grab breakfast on the way. And get almost 9 hours of sleep.

I needed to revise this routine.

I have started waking up at 6:30am. This is early enough to beat a lot of the traffic going into the city (the same way I drive to work), get about a 45minute cardio workout in, shower, and make it to the office just in time. Doing this has made me feel very productive and positive first thing in the morning.  With the nutritionist, I’m planning my meals very carefully, so I’ve had to re-think a bit of my meal planning/eating regiment, but in the end, I think that this will totally be worth it. The hardest part really, is ensuring I get to bed on time. With so much on the go, bedtime does present a challenge.

So my days start with a workout, I eat breakfast on the road between gym and the office, on my lunch hour I study, after work I go to crossfit when I can/nutrition appointment/run errands, meal prep/laundry/etc. On the weekends I am trying to ensure that I get at least one workout in. It’s been hard, but I’m trying. I’ll eventually figure out how to best make time for exercise on the weekend as well. If anyone has tips, feel free to share! Otherwise, I will report back.

For now, I better get moving!!

Ta-ta!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
