Divorcing the Muffin Top

My journey in becoming healthier, happier, and fitting into smaller pants.

My First Green Smoothie

My nutritionist has recommended that rather than the same breakfast that I have been eating every day since I started with her (hard boiled egg on rye toast with avocado and a fruit) that I try a ‘green fruit smoothie’. I attempted my first one today. #FAIL!!!
My first green smoothie was revolting!!
I did not follow any recipe, I kind of just flew by the seat of my pants and dropped some ingredients that sounded right into the blender. I used 1 cup spinach, 1 cup kale, 1/3 cup pineapple, juice from 1 small orange, and 3.5 tbsp hemp seeds. It was chunky and gooey and gross. I think I need more liquid in there.
My first move after choking down the smoothie was to email my nutritionist IMMEDIATELY and ask for some ideas! She has followed up with a booklet of all kinds of recipes and I look forward to trying them out! I’ll need to get passed the mental block that has now formed in order to try it out again, but I’m willing to try pretty much anything if it means I’ll be closer to my goal weight!

Here’s a look at what my blender looked like mid-smoothie mix:

My First Green Smoothie

My First Green Smoothie

NOT appetizing at all!! I am crossing my fingers that the next one is better – as I believe that this will be a great way to get my servings of veggies in and start my day off right!  Hopefully I haven’t turned anyone off trying them. I’ll follow up with a much better report next time 🙂

Until next time… bottoms up!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

